S.M.I.L.E. Awards

On May 10th, 2019, we held our annual S.M.I.L.E. Appreciation Ceremony at the Festival Theatre in Wolfville, NS, which honoured all of our graduating volunteers. The following individuals were given special awards for their contributions to S.M.I.L.E. during the event:

The Jack Scholz Founder’s Award for Commitment to The Acadia S.M.I.L.E. Program – The recipient of this award demonstrates ongoing, outstanding contributions to The Acadia S.M.I.L.E. Program.

- Awarded to O'Neal Blackman (1996-2019). O'Neal's mother Shelly accepted on O'Neal's behalf.

The Jack Scholz S.M.I.L.E. Award – The recipient of this award has demonstrated outstanding Leadership in The Acadia S.M.I.L.E. Program throughout his/her student career. The recipient has a strong passion for working with individuals with disabilities and contributes to research in the field of adapted physical activity.

- Awarded to Emma McLaughlin

The Krista Robertson S.M.I.L.E. Spirit AwardThe S.M.I.L.E Spirit Award was created in honour of Krista Robertson for her dedication to The Acadia S.M.I.L.E. Program. The award is presented annually to the S.M.I.L.E volunteer who demonstrates passion and enthusiasm for working with individuals with disabilities in a physical activity setting each week at The Acadia S.M.I.L.E. Program.

- Awarded to Zack Clarke and Claire Sawler

The Joan and Jack Craig Outstanding S.M.I.L.E. Instructor Award -  The recipient of this award has demonstrated remarkable dedication, compassion and enthusiasm as an Instructor to an individual with a disability in The Acadia S.M.I.L.E. Program.


- Awarded to Sarah Robertson and Jenna Robertson

Thank you to all of our award winners and graduating volunteers for everything that you have done for S.M.I.L.E.!